Artist of the Year


Program Background

The BC Wildlife Federation’s Artist of the Year Program was developed in 1992.  The goal of this program was to select a resident BC Artist whose work exhibits the beauty of BC’s fish, wildlife and habitat.  The sale of these limited edition art prints would continue to fund conservation projects throughout the province and at the same time recognize the talent of BC artists.

The Artist of the Year Program was expanded in 2008 and is now open to all classifications and mediums of artistic expression including, but not limited to, photography, paintings, sculpture, carving and mixed media formats.

Previous Winning Artists:

2017       Denis Mayer Jr.
-Piercing Spectacle

2016       Valerie Rogers


2015       Laura Levitsky
-A Quiet Repose

2014       Guy Hobbs
-All He Surveys

2013       Dianna Ponting

-Masked Musketeers

2012       Michael Jell
-Great Grey Owl

2011       Denis Mayer Jr.
-Home Sweet Home

2010       Joyce Trygg
- Eyes of the Forest

2009       Myles Mathis
- Wintering on the Fraser

2008       Valerie Rogers
- Winter Wanderer

2007       Denise Soule
- Mom’s Feather Bed

2006       Sandra Nahornoff
- McGregor Mountain Grizzlies III

2005       Eric Renk
- Headwaters


2004       Sandra Nahornoff
McGregor Mountain Grizzlies

2003    Rod Tribiger

- Starlit Serenade

2002     Eric Renk

Bull River Bugle

2001       Luke Raffin
- Side by Side

2000       Bruce Muir
- Caribou Migration

1999       Wilf Schlitt
- Hidden Treasures

1998       Peter Potapoff
- Twilight Admirer

1997       Mark Hobson
- Along the Way North

1996       Liz Mitten-Ryan
- A. A. Awe

1995       Bruce Muir
- Northern Steelhead

1994       Liz Mitten-Ryan
- Commanding Presence

1993       Andrew Kiss
- Rocky Mountain Spring Ground